The end of an era…

SAMSUNG CSC

Hello Tiger Garden friends and family!

My name is Kim Martin and many of you know me as the manager or face of Tiger Garden. This blog post is a little different than our typical post…therefore, I am not advertising a sale or trying to sell you flowers! I wanted to take this opportunity to officially announce that my departure from Tiger Garden will be on July 25th. This is a very bittersweet announcement for me. My journey at Tiger Garden started in the spring of 2006 as a student and it has been my home ever since. If I could stay at Tiger Garden forever, I would, but that is just not how life works sometimes!

Tiger Garden has been one of the greatest experiences of my life. I have learned so much and I am so thankful for the opportunities that I have been given over the years. I have had the pleasure of working with great faculty, staff and students throughout the years. Tiger Garden also provided me with numerous opportunities to work with and learn from some of the best floral industry professionals in the world. Being a part of Tiger Garden has molded me into the person I am today and I wouldn’t be where I am without the support from everyone involved.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

In the next couple weeks and months there will be some exciting changes in the shop. My departure will open up the doors for others, which is what Tiger Garden is all about. I jokingly tell my staff and students, “I’ve been around too long and know all the answers!” That is definitely not true, I know by now that you will never know the answers, but in some ways it is. I look forward to seeing how everyone will grow and change as they put their own twist on Tiger Garden. There will be some familiar faces taking over new responsibilities and some new faces stepping into new positions.

IMG_0301-2Melissa Daniels will be taking over as the retail floral manager and mentor for the daily Tiger Garden business. Melissa originates from the CAFNR family and comes to us from the Hospitality Management program and is very excited about her new role in Tiger Garden. If you find yourself walking by the shop, please stop by and welcome her into her new position!

Kim Martin, AIFD -- Induction

Last week I was inducted into the American Institute of Floral Designers, one of the leading floral affiliations in the world. (Yay!!) I started the journey to become AIFD so I could provide opportunities to students through a student chapter, Mizzou SAIFD. Although I am leaving Tiger Garden and Columbia, I will continue to work with the program as the Mizzou SAIFD advisor. I am really looking forward to the journey AIFD and Mizzou SAIFD will lead me down in the next several years.

While I am very sad to leave Tiger Garden and the floral design program, I know there are great things ahead! Thank you for all of the amazing experiences over the last several years, they will not soon be forgotten!

Farewell for now,

Kim Martin, AIFD
Soon-to-be-Retired Tiger Garden Manager

