Meet the Event Team

 

Tiger Garden Events Team is staying busy this week with several event each day! In honor of this crazy week I would like to share who is putting in all this hard work! At the beginning of this year events gained two new members to make a team of four.

becky

Team Member #1: The Special Events Coordinator at Tiger Garden and Events supervisor Becky Means (Soon to be Becky Melton)! Becky has worked at Tiger Garden since the summer of 2009, she graduated MU in 2012 with a degree in plant science and is now going back to get her masters this fall in Higher Education, Educational Leadership & Policy Analysis.

What is your favorite flower to work with? I love to work with all flowers but I love poppies and burplerum and any unique tropical flower.

What do you like most about working in events? I love meeting people and developing connections. I love the craziness surrounding events and the fast passed get it done environment but I also love when an event is over and you can sit and reflect on how it went and look forward to the next year.

What has been your favorite event so far? I love weddings! That’s my favorite kind of event because they are so happy and I get to add a little piece to their memory of the best day of their lives. I also love when we can make someones vision come to life. I don’t think that I can pick a favorite event that we do during the year..we do lots of cool ones but the ones that allow us to use our creativity like CAFNR Ag Unlimited and CAFNR Excellence are fun.

Fun fact: A fun fact about me is that I took floral design at the Career Center here in Columbia when I was a senior in High School. That is when I fell in love with flowers and when my dreams for my future started being filled with flower. Also random fun fact about me is that I love Mexican food and could probably eat it for every meal.

 

courtneyTeam Member #2: The Student Manger of Events Courtney Kirby has been working at Tiger Garden for almost a year. She is currently a sophomore at MU studying Middle School Education.

What is your favorite flower to work with? Lilies

What do you like most about working in events? I love the chaos and the planning. Working with logistics and manipulating schedules, budgets, and plans have become a hobby of mine. It is ultimately a challenge to get everything to run and fit smoothly.

What has been your favorite event so far? The United Veterans Holiday Party

Fun fact: I am overly obsessed with Grey’s Anatomy.

 

ginaTeam Member #3: Event Designer Gina Olsen has worked at Tiger Garden since Fall of 2013. She is currently a sophomore at MU studying Plant Science.

What is your favorite flower to work with? : spider mums, they’re like mini explosions in your arrangement

What do you like most about working in events? : I love starting a project from square one and seeing it through. It’s really rewarding to start a project with just a budget and plan the flowers, design it, and see your event in action.

What has been your favorite event so far? : Anything for Chancellor Loftin. He’s my hero/best friend. At least I want us to be best friends.

Fun fact: I’m obsessed with One Direction. I mean OBSESSED. It’s more than a band to me. Fan girl probs.

 

hannaTeam Member #4: Event Designer Hanna Souther has worked at Tiger Garden since Fall of 2013. She is currently a junior at MU studying Hospitality Management.

What is your favorite flower to work with?: hydrangea! They are so versatile and easy to use and always have a big impact!

What do you like the most about working in events?: I love the constant change of work and the craziness that comes with several events at once!

What has been your favorite event so far?: Ribbon cutting event for the new Broadway Hotel! I was able to design and plan out this huge arrangement! It was great seeing the arrangement coming alive from my sketch.

Fun Fact: I am from a town of 50 and love to refurbish furniture!

 

Have a great week!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

