It’s Peony Season!

I absolutely love peonies and think they should be used whenever possible! There are several things that make them great flowers, but the best thing is they can be purchased locally—or even grown in your own yard!

Peonies bloom mid to late May through early June in this area. I have spent the last two years perfecting my harvesting method for peonies. I have found if you cut them from the plant at the right stage, you can hold them in a cooler for as long as 6 weeks! I have read other sources saying they will hold for 8+ weeks—but that is yet to be tested. 🙂

Once the peonies have bloomed out, they are somewhat delicate and do require special care. If you plan on using your own peonies, I would contact a florist to make sure you get the most life out of your flowers! AND I would always have a back-up plan in mind because Mother Nature is often unpredictable.

If you are looking for a great bouquet flower in a white or pink shade, peonies are certainly a flower to consider. Even if you do not have a local source, peonies are well-worth what you pay for them.  In my opinion, the scent of a peony adds the perfect fragrance to a bouquet. It is not as over-powering as other flowers known for their fragrance.

Harvesting peonies from your yard and using them for your wedding is a very easy concept, but I would again like to stress the importance of contacting someone who is familiar with the process. You want to eliminate as much error as possible! If you are not the kind of person who can handle uncertainty, then you might want to stick with ordering your peonies in from a distributor!

9 thoughts on “It’s Peony Season!

  1. Pingback: Investing in Flowers | Weddingbee

  2. Pingback: Resolve « Lacquered Peonies

  3. Pingback: Spring always comes « Lovely

  4. I am doing flowers for a wedding on June 4…my florist friend told me to cut the peonies at bud stage, smash the end of the stem with a hammer, put them in cold water in a cooler…I did that last week…they are still at bud stage…now I read that maybe I cut them too soon and that the ants didn’t get to open them and now they won’t open…what can I do to insure they will open in a week, or should I go buy roses

    • Hello–

      Based on our experiences this procedure below is the one we use for cutting peonies and has proven to work several times.

      –Cut the peonies when they are about the size of a golf ball. Color will be showing.
      –Put them into a ziplock back and put them into the refrigerator–without any water.
      –Take them out of the refrigerator two or three days before we want to use them.
      –Re-cut the stems, dip them in hydrating soluntion, and put them into water.
      –We will ususlly sit them outside in the sun for a short period of time to help them open a little quicker.

      I don’t know what to specifically tell you to do because I am not sure what stage you cut the peonies at–but from what you described I would take them out about three days before you need them and re-cut the stems above the smashed area and put them into new water. The flowers will then start abrorbing water and begin to open up. You will be able to tell by the end of the day if they are going to open.

      Hope this helps! Thanks, Kim.

  5. Pingback: Flower Love = Peonies | Miss Hopeless Romantic

  6. Pingback: Peonies – Moody Monday « The Wedding Community Blog

Leave a Reply

